MAFIKA PASCAL GWALA, collected poems

: Langa (M.) & Sitas (A.) eds.

R 90.00
- +

Send us an email to request this title

188pp., paperback, Cape Town, 2016


Introduction by Mandla Langa and Ari Sitas.

South African poet and editor Mafika Pascal Gwala (1946-2014) was born and grew up in Verulam, north of Durban, KwaZulu-Natal. Active in the struggle against apartheid and a leader of the Black Consciousness movement in the 1970s he published two volumes of poetry, "Jol'iinkomo" (1977) and "No More Lullabies" (1982). This collection includes all the poems from these two published volumes, as well as a selection of poems taken from "Exiles Within: 7 South African poets". Gwala also translated and co-edited (with Liz Gunner) "Musho! Zulu popular praises" (1991).