: Coetzee (J.M.)

R 205.00
- +

198pp., paperback, London, (1990) 2010


Winner of the Sunday Express Book of the Year Award.

An elderly classics professor living in Cape Town writes a letter to her daughter, recounting the events of her dying days as she witnesses the brutalities of apartheid.

"A superbly realized novel whose truth cuts to the bone" The New York Times

"A fierce pageant of modern South Africa ... A remarkable work by a brilliant writer" Wall Street Journal

"Coetzee is one of the greatest writers of our time ... Age of Iron is taut, ironic, grieving and, finally, astonishing" Los Angeles Times

J.M. Coetzee’s work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, Boyhood, Disgrace, Summertime and the Jesus Trilogy. He was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2003.