SUMMERTIME, scenes from provincial life

: Coetzee (J.M.)

R 205.00
- +

266 pp., paperback, London, 2009


This book completes the trilogy of fictionalised memoir begun with Boyhood and Youth.

Shortlisted for the 2010 Sunday Times Fiction Prize.

"A subtle, allusive meditation: an intriguing map of a weak character's constricted heart struggling against the undertow of suspicion within South Africa's claustrophobic, unpoetic, overtly macho society" Financial Times

"A poignant, cubistic portrait ... It is not essential, however, that one know anything of Boyhood, Youth, or his other works to appreciate its rich offerings as an imaginatively distorted and distorting portrait of the artist as outsider" TLS

J.M. Coetzee’s work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, Boyhood, Youth, Disgrace and the Jesus Trilogy. He was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2003.